2018 Wilkinson Sword Trophy

The final standings after the final event. Only two points separated first from second overall, with third a further 4 points adrift. Close at the end.

Congratulations Terry Curtis and your crews Peter Greig & Andy Rushworth on winning 2018 Wilkinson Sword Trophy.

Keep a look out for the 2019 Wilkinson Sword events list.

 by Ben Hawkes on 14th August 2017

Curtis and Greig use kebab, beer and night out technique for Nationals win

photo copyright Mike Millard

The final two races were won by the clubers and drinkers. With light winds forecast, the Race Officer decided early on to postpone the racing. This aided Curtis and Greig to recover as they had gone out with fellow competitors on the Saturday night, as they believed that no racing would be a definite. The overnight leaders (Burge and Maunder) also tried to develop this new technique acquired by Curtis and Grieg and took little persuasion to stay out.

Eventually the fleet were told they were being sent out as the wind had filled in and the race committee wanted to be the first to get a 10 race series in for the Ospreys. This enthusiasm was met by a 30 minute postponement on the water as the wind was shifting too much to set a course, which led to champagne conditions with glorious sunshine and smooth waters. For some competitors it was more time to practice that, as ever, crucial first beat.

With the course set and everything as wanted, the penultimate race was started. For the first beat father and son team with Shippy Mcship Face (Simon and Ben Hawkes) made the right decisions and rounded first with Curtis/Greig just behind them. However when the reach came around a pole malfunction allowed Curtis/Grieg to take the lead. This allowed Burge/Maunder and Strong/Angrave to battle for what they thought would be an advantage for the title. With Burge/Maunder taking the 'mini' battle win it meant they had to finish in the top 3. Which for a talented helm and crew who had been consistent for the whole week wasn't a huge ask.

So with this the final race was started. However Strong/Angrave thought it was a match race between them and Burge/Maunder. They had forgotten that Curtis/Grieg were hot on their heels overall! Curtis/Grieg then went onto win this race with Burge/Maunder and Strong/Angrave both having have suffered a bad start. This therefore meant that Terry Curtis and Peter Grieg had won the Nationals after trying for 3 years!

Whilst all this action was being undertaken, Mike Pickering and Mike Priddle had taken a brief introduction into pole dancing on a channel marker. Their excuse was the pole downhaul had got caught but who knows!?

The Osprey Class would like to thank Poole Yacht Club for the amazing venue, quick turnarounds and great courses. They would also like to thank those that have sponsored this year's Nationals for the daily prizes; Marlow Ropes, Hartley Boats, North Sails, Rain and Sun covers, Seasure and Allen Brothers. Including those who had capsized for which surprisingly Burge/Maunder and Strong/Angrave both won prizes donated by Gul.

The event was enjoyed by all and we hope the class continues to grow. Looking forward to seeing everybody at Rutland for the End of Seasons!

Full results