Note - designer Ian Proctor doing well at first Nationals.
At our 60th Nationals we had the privilege of being joined by two of Ian Proctor's friends from the '50s, Mike Goffe and Cliff Norbury.

Osprey Class
First Annual Championship [1958]

source pages 156 & 157 Volume 1 Dinghy Year Book 1958 published by Adlard Coles Limited, 7 Brunswick Place, Southampton at cost of 13s 3d. [Note – photocopy of original pages held by Huw Pearce]

Twenty-two 17ft 6in Osprey dinghies competed in a series of three championship races for the Daily Telegraph Cup at Saundersfoot on 7th and 8th June. Saundersfoot Bay proved to be an ideal water for such an event and the organisation by Saundersfoot SC was excellent.

The first race, for the Martini Trophy, was sailed in a fresh wind, gusting up to over 20 knots. Tony Philips in Stardust and Stanley Edwards in Jabberwock led at the first mark, but they were overtaken by Ian Proctor’s Nebulous, with a lighter crew, on the planing run under spinnakers. On the next two beats; comprising the other two legs of the course, the heavier crews went in to the lead again and on the second round Lloyd Edwards in Ballerina also passed Nebulus. On the last leg the wind had freed a little and it was no longer a beat, but close reach, on which Nebulus planed through to finish second to Stardust.

Peter Gartrell, the champion helmsman of the Redwing Class, led at the first mark in Wendy in the race for the Saundersfoot Trophy on the next morning. The wind was gusting up to about 15 knots. On the first spinnaker reach Nebulus took the lead and went on to finish well ahead. There was a keen battle for second place between Wendy and Stardust. On the second reach Stardust overtook Wendy, but she was passed again on the beat. Wendy came to the finishing line ahead, but she the wrong side of the limiting mark and before she could correct her mistake  Stardust had taken her hard gained place from her.

Stardust and Nebulus were therefore equal on points when they started the final race, for the Proctor Cup. Nebulus lead at the first mark, with Stardust close astern of her, but on the run Nebulus opened well away. Once they came on the wind, however, Stardust began to overhaul Nebulus and there was not much between them at the end of the first round. Again Nebulus opened away off the wind, but in the last few yards of the beat to the finish Stardust slipped by to take first gun and the Osprey championship title.


Daily Telegraph Cup

1st Stardust A Philips

2nd Nebulus I Proctor

3rd Jabberwock S Edwards

3rd Ballerina L Edwards

Martini Trophy

1st Stardust

2nd Nebulus

3rd Ballerina

Saundersfoot Trophy

1st Nebulus

2nd Stardust

3rd Wendy

Proctor Cup

1st Stardust

2nd Nebulus

3rd Jabberwock

This class is growing steadily and becoming established in several new centres at home and abroad. Nebulus, when sailed by John Oakley, was second boat to finish in the Folkstone-Boulogne race on 12th July.

The 1959 championships will be held in Mounts Bay, Cornwall.  IP

Notes added by Huw Pearce:

1. Martini Trophy was awarded to the winner of Race 1

2. Saundersfoot Trophy was awarded to the winner of Race 2

3. Proctor Cup was awarded to the winner of Race 3

4. Daily Telegraph Trophy was awarded to the overall winner

5. IP at end I believe to be Ian Proctor