2018 Wilkinson Sword Trophy

The final standings after the final event. Only two points separated first from second overall, with third a further 4 points adrift. Close at the end.

Congratulations Terry Curtis and your crews Peter Greig & Andy Rushworth on winning 2018 Wilkinson Sword Trophy.

Keep a look out for the 2019 Wilkinson Sword events list.

By Ben Hawkes [Updated /revised at 16:30BST 12th July 2016]


This weekend beckoned the return of the Annual Weymouth regatta incorporating the Osprey Class Southern Championships. 13 boats made the journey to the south coast with this as the last event before the Nationals at Mumbles. For most this was an opportunity to test equipment, crew work and boat speed, the first day saw the fleet out in Weymouth bay with gusts up to 30 knots recorded. Kev Francis and Phil Male in 1296 were soon mixing it at the top with 2 bullets, closely followed by Martin Cooney and Peter Frith in 1290 using the repaired mast for the first time and Terry Curtis and Nick Broomhall in 1281 finishing in that order. Race 2 was very similar in every respect.

Unfortunately by race 3 Nick Broomhall decided that he was far too hot and needed a quick dip to cool down. This race saw boats tipping in at the gybe mark after seeing Martin and Pete dropping the kite and 2 sailing away on a very tight reach, however some luck was to play its part as Basher Marshall and Andrew Edmonds in 1343, Alex Willis and Nick Willis in 1291 and Ben Hawkes and Simon Hawkes in 1356 and 1296 came to the leeward mark. A sudden gust and confused swell claimed both 1291 and 1343 leaving the door open for 1296 and 1356 to sail through to top 3 places. After day 1 the top places were taken by Kevin and Phil in 1st with Martin and Peter in 2nd and Ben and Simon in 3rd.

The long journey home was rewarded with ice creams back at Castle Cove and later a yummy Chilli. Martin and Peter bowed out of the weekend's activities at this point to attend advanced yoga sessions ahead of the Nationals.

Day 2 broke with a slightly lighter wind but with increased levels of pain for all crews, consumption of Ibuprofen and some low cloud to complete the ominous picture. By the time the boats were circling the race boat this time within Portland Harbour the wind was back up to the mid 20 knot bracket but with a clean South Westerly wind to help boat set up and the race officer.

The favoured tactic was to sail to the isle of Portland where the wind bends and most of the fleet opted for this approach making it a race to the island as well as a race to the windward mark. The clean start ensured the fleet stuck close together for most of the beat with Kevin and Phil still carrying the luck of the previous day to round first at the windward mark closely followed by Terry and Nick. Further back down the fleet the positions were changing quicker than government ministers mainly due to the ability to get a good wind lane for the downwind legs. By the end Kev and Phil got the bullet with Terry and Nick a consistent 2nd and Emma Stevenson and Tim Bowden in 1175 going well to grab 3rd. The 5th race was all important for Kev and Phil who managed a repeat performance to clinch the championship and regatta, again the order was Terry and Nick in 2nd with Ben and Simon in 3rd.

The final race of the weekend was important in deciding the 2nd placed boat overall with 1356 needing Terry and Nick to make a mistake and get some boats between them. The start was again a clean one which is unusual for this class and Alex and Nick in 1291 made the best of it by driving off from the committee boat toward the island thus pinning most of the fleet under them. Kev and Phil elected to 'do something different' and tacked immediately onto port and out into the middle of the harbour. By the end of the long beat it was 1356 that had found another gear and increased pointing thanks to some adjustment to the jib fairleads to open the slot, they arrived 1 boat length ahead of 1296 who had rum lined the beat from far away to port.

The lead continued for 1356 down the first leg of the triangle with a clean gybe and a sporty reach into the leeward mark before 1296 managed to get into an attacking position only to drop onto the leeward boat and incur the penalty which was further complicated by a snapped tiller extension during the turns adding insult to injury, meanwhile 1356 was heading back to Portland to avoid the eagle eyes of Terry and Nick who at this point would be 3rd overall, 1356 carried on for the well-deserved win, also the first for Ben and Simon but all the action was unfolding behind with the final run causing a split in the fleet with 1296 and 1343 gybing into the middle of the harbour and sailing the angles with the rest rum lining to the mark. By the final approach to the leeward mark it was clear that for once the angles had paid off but unfortunately for 1343 a poor tack cost them dear with Kev and Phil sliding in just behind Terry and Nick and Emma and Tim, thus ensued a frantic race to the finish line with Terry and Nick getting there in 2nd and Kev and Phil just pipping Emma and Tim for 3rd.

Special mention to Andrew Jenkins and Rebecca Jenkins sailing in a Mk 2A Osprey of vintage era and completing the event with a smile, well done guys.

With 3 under 20 helms in the top 5 places the Osprey class has again proven to be the ideal platform for the next generation of sailors who wish to sail a proper symmetrical performance trapeze boat to a very competitive standard amongst friends.

Also of note is that the top 2 boats are wooden and at least 16 years old. In this class age is no barrier to success. Come and see for yourself.

Many thanks to the Yacht clubs of Weymouth and Castle Cove as well as the Sponsors for making the weekend a success, roll on 2017!

Overall Results:


Pos Sail No Helm Crew R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 Pts
1 1296 Kevin Francis Phil Male 1 1 2 1 1 3 6
2 1281 Terry Curtis Nick Broomhall 3 3 RET 2 2 2 12
3 1356 Ben Hawkes Simon Hawkes 5 4 4 5 3 1 17
4 1175 Emma Stevenson Tim Bowden 7 5 3 3 4 4 19
5 1291 Alex Willis Nick Willis 4 7 6 6 6 5 27
6 1343 Richard Marshall Andrew Jenkins 6 6 7 4 5 7 28
7 1292 Paul Heather Jonathan Osgood 10 11 5 7 8 6 36
8 1290 Martin Cooney Peter Frith 2 2 1 DNC DNC DNC 37
9 1338 Ken Brown Chris Butters 8 8 8 8 7 8 39
10 1114 Ros Downs David Downs 11 10 9 9 10 11 49
11 1322 Mick Greenland Boris Morrice 12 9 DNC 11 9 9 50
12 1247 Marcus Scrace John Pym 9 DNC DNC 10 11 10 56
13 1264 Andrew Jenkins Rebecca Jenkins 13 RTD DNC 12 12 12 65