Next Class Events

The Solent Forts Race is a long-distance event set in the Eastern Solent, with Hayling Island and Portsmouth to the North and the Isle of Wight to the West. It is the first event in the 2018 Allen Endurance Series.

Solent Forts Race

The Highcliffe Open [joint event with Contender Class] is taking place on 9th & 10th June.

Highcliffe SC Open

Isle of Sheppey SC Open is on 16th & 17th June and is preceeded on Friday 15th June by a Class Coaching day led by Adam Bowers, which is FREE to Osprey Class Association members.

Isle of Sheppey SC Open

Poole Open Saturday 30th June & Sunday 1st July 2018 Come to Poole Yacht Club for the usual excellent racing with our fleet of 17 home boats. Once again we are joining with the Contender fleet (separate starts) On the Saturday evening, we have arranged a repeat of last year’s “Mid-summer Madness”; LIVE MUSIC and a bar extension till midnight. In 2017 this was PYC’s event of the year. Why not bring your partner and join us in 2018. There are spaces for camper vans and we may be able to find beds for some lucky visitors. Contact Chris Playfair: 07952551524, Details will be on the Poole Yacht Club Website

Southern Area Championship


2014 Wilkinson Sword Series winners Martin Cooney & Peter Frith

The Wilkinson Sword series is the Osprey class’s major nationwide traveller series, comprising eleven events in 2014. The series finished at Rutland at the class’s End of Season Championships on 1st & 2nd November.

Going into the final event, the series leaders were Rob Shaw and Ian Little from Kielder Water SC, but the series was still open. The pair with the best chance of challenging Shaw and Little were Martin Cooney and Peter Frith, from Poole YC, who needed a top three placing to overhaul the leaders, who were unable to sail the final event. 

The Rutland event produced an array of different race winners, with Richard and Mark Hartley, Cooney and Frith, Terry Curtis and Peter Greig, and Roger and Jamie Blake all taking race wins. But overall, consistency helped Martin Cooney and Peter Frith take first place overall at Rutland, which gave them the Wilkinson Sword series for 2014, succeeding 2013 winners Alexandra and Nick Willis. 


Second overall were Shaw and Little, with Richard Marshall and Peter Greig third.

It was a series which see sawed to the end. With two events left to go, the series leaders were the holders Alexandra and Nick Willis, but at the penultimate event at Kielder, Rob Shaw and Ian Little surged into the lead and their total of 11 points meant that an outstanding performance was needed for anyone to overtake them at the final event. But Cooney and Frith’s win at Rutland duly propelled them into the lead, and the Sword was theirs for the next year.

This year’s Wilkinson Sword series had an increased entry compared to last year, with 56 boats taking part. The most popular event was the Inland Championship at Blithfield in April with 21 boats, and the series finished well at Rutland, with a number of teams joining in the series for the first time.

As well as this popular national series, the class this year launched successful new Regional circuits in the Lakes and Borders and in South Wales. Next year these two new circuits and the national circuit will continue, and the class’s growing numbers mean that a third Regional circuit will be launched, in the Southern Region.

There is plenty to look forward to in 2015 for Osprey sailors, and for anyone thinking of purchasing an example of this powerful fast boat.

Further information about the class may be found at and the complete results for the 2014 Wilkinson Sword Series.


Top 10 Overall 

Results are final as of 21:31 on November 10, 2014

Sailed: 11, Discards: 6, To count: 5, Entries: 56, Scoring system: Appendix A
Rank SailNo Club HelmName CrewName Exmoor Beastie Inlands Blithfield Mounts Bay Welsh & Midland Tata Coniston Poole Lord Birkett Ullswater Southerns Weymouth Burnham Scottish & Northerns Kielder Final Fling Rutland Total Nett
1st 1290 Poole Martin Cooney Peter Frith (57.0 DNC) 4.0 1.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 1.0 (57.0 DNC) 1.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 1.0 350.0 8.0
2nd 1337 Kielder Water Robert Shaw Ian Little (57.0 DNC) 5.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 2.0 (57.0 DNC) 1.0 (57.0 DNC) 1.0 2.0 (57.0 DNC) 353.0 11.0
3rd 1343 Poole Richard Marshall Peter Greig (57.0 DNC) 3.0 2.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 3.0 (57.0 DNC) 3.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 4.0 357.0 15.0
4th 1291 Hayling Island Alex Willis Nick Willis 2.0 (16.0) 7.0 2.0 (57.0 DNC) 5.0 (57.0 DNC) 5.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 322.0 21.0
5th 1292 Aldenham Paul Heather Jonathan Osgood (57.0 DNC) (17.0) 5.0 4.0 5.0 (10.0) (57.0 DNC) (6.0) 5.0 5.0 (7.0) 178.0 24.0
6th 1296 Castle Cove Kevin Francis Phil Male 1.0 6.0 3.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 13.0 (57.0 DNC) 2.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 367.0 25.0
7th 1276 Coniston Alec Mamwell Arthur Butler (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 4.0 (57.0 DNC) 4.0 (57.0 DNC) 3.0 4.0 12.0 369.0 27.0
8th 1281 Weymouth Terry Curtis Peter Lloyd 3.0 9.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 9.0 (57.0 DNC) 4.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 3.0 370.0 28.0
9th 1114 Tata Steel Ros Downs David Downs (57.0 DNC) 19.0 (57.0 DNC) 7.0 (57.0 DNC) 14.0 7.0 (57.0 DNC) 9.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 398.0 56.0
10th 1316 Prestwick Alan Henderson Alastair Barrie (57.0 DNC) 13.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 1.0 (57.0 DNC) 3.0 (57.0 DNC) (57.0 DNC) 1.0 57.0 DNC 417.0 75.0

Sailwave Scoring Software 2.16.7