Next Class Events

Carsington SC Open

Carsington SC is hosting the fourth class open meeting of the 2018 season on 26th & 27th May. It is also the Inland Championships. The Inlands are preceeded on Friday 25th May by a Class Coaching Day led by Tim Rush; this coaching day is FREE to members of the Osprey Class Association

Inland Championship at Carsington SC

The Solent Forts Race is a long-distance event set in the Eastern Solent, with Hayling Island and Portsmouth to the North and the Isle of Wight to the West. It is the first event in the 2018 Allen Endurance Series.

Solent Forts Race

Highcliffe Open

The Highcliffe Open [joint event with Contender Class] is taking place on 9th & 10th June.

Highcliffe SC Open

Poole YC

Poole Open Saturday 30th June & Sunday 1st July 2018 Come to Poole Yacht Club for the usual excellent racing with our fleet of 17 home boats. Once again we are joining with the Contender fleet (separate starts) On the Saturday evening, we have arranged a repeat of last year’s “Mid-summer Madness”; LIVE MUSIC and a bar extension till midnight. In 2017 this was PYC’s event of the year. Why not bring your partner and join us in 2018. There are spaces for camper vans and we may be able to find beds for some lucky visitors. Contact Chris Playfair: 07952551524, Details will be on the Poole Yacht Club Website

Southern Area Championship

Some like it hot!

Winds of 14-20 knots greeted competitors for the Osprey End of Season Championships at Rutland SC on November 1/2. There was very tight racing at the front, with Saturday's three races all going to different teams. In Race 1, Richard and Mark Hartley celebrated their return to Osprey sailing with a good win. In Race 2, Martin Cooney and Peter Frith held off the Hartleys. The official results sheet shows the Osprey class's star appeal, as Tony Curtis seems to have won the third race, though whether he was crewed by Jack Lemmon or Marilyn Munroe is uncertain.

It was a cold day in the fresh breezes, but among Osprey sailors, Some Like it Hot, and the light breezes and warmer weather on the Sunday were more to their taste. A fourth race winner duly popped up, in the shape of father and son combo Roger and James Blake, who kept Martin Cooney and Peter Frith at bay. Just one race remained, so could there be a fifth winner in as many races? No, every star likes to take an encore, and Tony Curtis once again enjoyed the Sweet Smell of Success, with Richard Marshall and Mike Atkinson taking second.

Overall, consistent scores helped Martin Cooney and Peter Frith to take the Championship, with the Hartleys second and Curtis (actually Terry Curtis) third.

The event was the final and deciding event of the Osprey class's 2014 Wilkinson Sword national traveller series, which went to Martin Cooney and Peter Frith.

While the Osprey sailors were enjoying the usual highly competitive class racing at Rutland, at Burnham the same weekend another Osprey sailor, National Champion Matt Burge also enjoyed success by clinching the Endeavour Trophy with his crew Toby Lewis. This was the first time an Osprey team have won the Endeavour Trophy.

Overall Results:

Pos Sail No Helm Crew Club R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 Pts
1st 1290 Martin Cooney Peter Frith Poole YC 2 1 2 2 (3) 7
2nd 1355 Richard Hartley Mark Hartley Blithfield 1 2 4 3 (5) 10
3rd 1281 Tony Curtis Peter Greig Weymouth/Mounts Bay (10) 3 1 7 1 12
4th 1343 Richard Marshall Mike Atkinson Poole YC (7) 6 6 5 2 19
5th 1331 Gareth Caldwell Jon Gibbons Blithfield SC 3 4 3 (DNC) DNC 27
6th 1085 George Odling Harry Odling R Signals YC 4 9 (DNC) 11 4 28
7th 1292 Paul Heather Jonathon Osgood Aldenham 5 8 8 (9) 8 29
8th 1329 Roger Blake James Blake Great Moor SC (13) 12 11 1 6 30
9th 1347 P Kay P Meakins Hamble River SC 8 7 5 10 (11) 30
10th 1318 Ben Hawkes Simon Hawkes Chew Valley SC 9 11 (12) 4 7 31
11th 1341 Russell Wheeler   Isle Of Sheppey SC 6 5 7 (13) 13 31
12th 1276 Alec Mamwell Arthur Butler Coniston SC (11) 10 10 8 9 37
13th 1322 Mick Greenland Mark Seagar Isle of Sheppey SC 12 (13) 13 6 12 43
14th 1325 Robin George Nicola George Great Moor SC (DNC) 15 14 12 10 51
15th 1357 Duncan Adams Matt Pallett Burton SC` (DNC) DNC 9 DNC DNC 60
16th 1289 Paul Blackburn Phil Burchell Stokes Bay 14 14 (DNC) DNC DNC 62